🏆 Rated 5.0 on Clutch · $114M+ in client revenue managed. See all client results →
Free Marketing Plan
Amazon Services
Amazon Account Management
Amazon PPC
Amazon SEO
Amazon Listing Optimization
Amazon Account Audit
Amazon Brand Management
E-Commerce Services
Full-Service Growth
Case Studies
Tools
About
Company
About us
Blog
Careers
Get Your Free Marketing Plan
🏆 Rated 5.0 on Clutch · $114M+ in client revenue managed. See all client results →
Amazon Services
Amazon Account Management
Amazon PPC
Amazon SEO
Amazon Listing Optimization
Amazon Account Audit
Amazon Brand Management
Amazon Product Launch
E-Commerce Services
E-Commerce Services
Case Studies
Tools
Company
About Us
Blog
Careers
Get Your Free Marketing Plan
Free Marketing Plan
/
Tools
/
Amazon ACoS Calculator

Amazon ACoS Calculator

You set up Amazon ads, you start seeing sales, but you are not sure how effective ads are and whether you should continue? Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) calculator is an important tool for all sellers on Amazon and will help you determine the efficiency of your advertising campaigns.
Ad Spend ($)
Ad Revenue ($)
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Your ACoS is
Value
Formula: (Ad Spend / Ad Revenue) x 100
Clear

What is Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS)?

Definition

Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) is a ration between how much you spend on your ads vs. the revenue you generate through those ads.

Example

Say you are running an e-book store on Amazon, and you are spending $200 on ads while generating only $100 in sales; that means your ACoS is around 50% and your ads are essentially not "worth" the investment.

Benchmark

ACoS on Amazon is expressed in percentage and anything below 30% is considered a good investment (more on that below).

Try Our Free Amazon Tools

ROAS Calculator

ROAS stands for Return On Ad Spend. It is a metric to describe how much revenue you get in return for your advertising budget. If your ROAS is 800%, it means that in return for the amount of money you spend on ads you generate 8x its revenue.
Free
Use Caclulator

Keyword Research Tool

The Advertising Cost of Sales (ACoS) is a term used by Amazon to measure the performance of your sponsored advertising campaigns. It describes ratio of your ad budget to your ad revenue.
Free
Use Tool

TACoS Calculator

Amazon TACoS, or total advertising cost of sale, is a metric to measure ad spend relative to an Amazon seller’s total sales revenue, including ad sales and organic sales.
Free
Use Caclulator

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the Benefits of Calculating ACoS?

Keeping track of ACoS is extremely important for businesses of all kinds. You can't be running ads without checking how they perform.

Benefits of calculating ACoS are:

  • Improved budget allocation for your Amazon ads
  • Better decisions being made for your e-commerce business
  • Increased Amazon advertising efficiency

How to calculate ACoS?

You can calculate ACoS simply by using readily available online calculators, or use the formula below.

ACoS should only include the revenue that is directly contributed to the ads you are running, otherwise you might get wrong numbers.Do NOT include organic sales in your calculation.

In addition, make sure you are using the same dates for the ad spend/ad revenue.

What is the ACoS formula?

There are multiple factors that can impact your ACoS on Amazon, but most important are:

  • Targeting precision: If you are targeting audience that does not match your buyer intent, you will be paying for clicks that will never convert.
  • Ad/Listing quality: The quality of your listings directly impacts the conversions. Low conversions rates increase your cost per sale, which can negatively impact your ACoS.
  • Competition: Check PPC bid ranges before you start targeting certain keywords. Some might not be worth it (depending on your ACoS).

What is a good ACoS?

We've already mentioned that good ACoS is anything below 30%, but ideally you should target 25% or lower. Why? Well, if your ACoS is above 40%, in most cases you will not be making any money. Here is how:

  • 40% spent on ads
  • 30% spent on Amazon fees
  • 30% on COGS.


So, in this example you are just working for free as your total costs are 100% of what you earn in sales.

Aim to keep ACoS at or below 30% so that you are closer to the profitability.

What is target ACoS?

Target ACoS will depend on the stage at which your business is in currently. If you are in a product launch phase, you might be seeing up to 50% of ACoS which is fine as you are buying rankings, reviews, etc.

Once you are settled and you're focused on a growth, you should aim for an ACoS at 20-30% so that you can make a profit.

Target ACoS can be adjusted if needed. If you want to grow, raise ACoS; if you want to increase your profits; then lower it.

What is Breakeven ACoS?

Breakeven ACoS is the maximum value you can afford before your advertising campaigns stop making money.

Why would you want to know your breakeven ACoS?

Because it tells you how much you can spend on ads before you start losing money. Every business must know their "breakeven" point or the point at which your business stops being profitable.

Seeing new sales from ads can feel really good, until you check your bank account.

If your revenue is up and your ACoS too high, you may still be losing money overall.

What is Breakeven ACoS Formula?

Breakeven ACoS = Gross profit margin %

Example:

  • Selling price: $100
  • Amazon fees: 30%
  • COGS: 30%


Gross margin = 100% - 30% - 30% = 40%. So, in this example, your breakeven ACoS would be 40%. Anything above that would mean that you are losing on ad sales.

What is the difference between ACoS and RoAS?

Advertising Cost of Sales measures how much you spend on ads vs. how much you earn, while RoAS (Return on Ad Spend) shows how many dollars you make for every dollar you spend on ads. ACoS is cost-focused while RoAS is return-focused.

If we use the same example:

  • Total ad spend: $100
  • Total ad revenue: $200


ACoS = 100 / 200 x 100 = 50%

RoAS = 2

So:

  • 25% ACoS = 4.0 ROAS‍
  • 33% ACoS = 3.0 ROAS‍
  • 50% ACoS = 2.0 ROAS


They are essentially showing the same thing but in a slightly different framework. In practice, RoAS is used more for Google and Meta Ads, while ACoS is used for Amazon ads.

Certified Full Service Amazon Agency for Brands That Want to Dominate

Work with us, we care about your results more than anyone in our industry. Clients work with us for years, and most likely, if you partner with us, you will too.

Get Your Free Marketing Plan
New York
1412 Broadway 21st Floor New York, NY 10018 United States
+1 332-291-6320
London
13 Hawley Cres London NW1 8NP United Kingdom
+44 7360 268750
Berlin
Stresemannstraße 12310963 Berlin Germany
+49 30 9158 2234
Sofia
51, Blvd. "Cherni vrah" Blvd 1407, Sofia Bulgaria
+359 800 210 0304
Agency
Case StudiesAbout Us
Careers
HIRING
Blog
Amazon Services
Account ManagementPPCSEOListing OptimizationAccount AuditBrand Management
ecommerce Services
Full Service Growth
Tools
TACoS CalculatorACOS CalculatorROAS CalculatorKeyword Research Tool
Have a question?
Email our CEO.
alex@olifantdigital.com
DesignRush
© 2026 Olifant Digital. All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
|
Terms of Service